Right of way marker

Shown is an old Indiana state highway right of way marker. It was found on State Road 14, west of State Road 9 about 1 mile in Whitley County. Apparently these markers were placed when there was a road widening, realignment or road

Old state highway right of way marker

construction project of some type. There are several of these on 14 between South Whitley and Fort Wayne. Other state roads in the area, including 205 and 13, have them, too.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Right of way marker

  1. Mike Stanford 260-760-6985 says:

    I have one of these on my property just one mile inside Whitley County on the North Side of the road. I am trying to research our old house which was built back in 1875. Any research you have done or would be willing to do would be greatly appreciated. We have purchased in an effort to preserve the old house and start new 100 year old traditions.

    • historynut11 says:

      Mike, thanks for your comments. I have not done any research on your house, but I will call you soon and we can talk about how I may be able to help you. I enjoy doing this sort of thing so if I can help I will be glad to.

  2. Linda Kelch says:

    Interesting

  3. We were just traveling Indiana SR25 and enjoyed reading your blog. There are MANY such posts along the stretch from Logansport to where 25 intersects US31. Many old concrete fence posts and cornerstones too.

Leave a Reply

