Jefferson Street marker in Huntington

100_2366Huntington is a town rich in local history whether it be railroads, the Wabash and Erie Canal, old houses, old roads and more. Shown is a historic marker on Jefferson Street in downtown Huntington. As you will see on the marker, it denotes the fact Jefferson Street was once part of the route for an old pioneer state road. The road is sometimes referred to as the Huntington-Goshen Road. You may recall an earlier post on my blog where I showed part of an actual remnant of the pioneer road near North Webster in Kosciusko County. The old road was located near the Wabash-Erie Canal, which was obviously no accident as it served as a way for wagons to ship goods and freight unloaded off canal boats. A good portion of what is now State Road 5 was once the Huntington-Goshen Road.

 

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jefferson Street marker in Huntington

  1. Marjorie Antoinette Coble Wolters says:

    YEARS ago I rode the old Ft. Wayne to Huntington interurban. I vaguely remember little settlements name Mahawn (sp) and Mardenes (sp) along the route. I am going to contact the Huntington Historical Society to see if there are any records of these long gone settlements. I am so proud to claim Huntington, Indiana and all its history as my place of birth. Marj Coble Wolters

    • historynut11 says:

      Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on my blog, Marj. I would love to hear more specific comments about your riding the interurban. It’s not easy to find anyone who can remember riding an interurban. Most interurban lines stopped passenger service by the 1940s at the latest. You can reach me by e-mail at tashley04@gmail.com or by phone at (574) 202-0925.

  2. Marjorie Antoinette Coble Wolters says:

    Hello again. I tried emailing you, but have not heard if you received my reflections or not. marj wolters

Leave a Reply

