Customers were steered to the Steer Inn

When people remember the past, it’s fairly common an outstanding restaurant or eatery comes to mind. Those are not so easy to find. I’ve heard several positive comments about the former Steer Inn restaurant. It was a steakhouse located along State Road 15 just north of Silver Lake in Kosciusko County. Steer Inn may have been part of a chain of restaurants. I’ve seen references online to restaurants of the same name located on the East Coast and Pennsylvania, among other locations. Another reference I saw said it was in Silver Lake from the 1960s through about the early 1980s. If anyone knows for sure, please let me know. Note the words “fine foods” on the sign, a remnant of the restaurant still standing. I’m not sure what the building is used for now. A once fine eatery that may have fell victim to the proliferation of fast food in America.

Former Steer Inn just outside Silver Lake.

Former Steer Inn just outside Silver Lake.

 

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Customers were steered to the Steer Inn

  1. jacob danner says:

    I know a lot of the history of the old steer inn restaurant, my grandparents owned and operated it from the late 80’s up until early 2002. My mother and aunt were both waitresses there during that time and you could say I kind of grew up there, lots of great memories. There was a fire in 2002 that burned down the back warehouse and just left the actual restaurant part still standing today, my grandfather still works there selling carpet, linoleum, trim and basically anything you would want or need to remodel a home. He calls it Triple A warehouse as his last name is arnett. Feel free to contact me if you would like to learn any other history of the old restaurant.

Leave a Reply

