Site of former Woodrow School in Fulton County

Two years ago, while on a summer vacation, I took a local trip and decided to drive a stretch of the old Michigan Road between Rochester and Plymouth. Today that road is known as Old US 31 (the oldest version of 31). Of course many will know this is a historic road in Indiana. I didn’t encounter nearly as much traffic as I would have driving the current US 31. Along the way in Fulton County, near Rochester, I noticed this concrete marker indicating the Woodrow School. More specifically it is near County Road 300 South on Old 31. The marker says the school opened in 1917 and closed in 1959. Based on when it was built, I would make a guess it was not a one room schoolhouse. It was likely bigger, but I could be wrong because I was not able to get more specific information during research. Most of the one room schools were built pre-1900. Or not long after the turn of the century. In the background you can faintly see part of the building still standing, though not much of it is. If anyone has more information about Woodrow School, please contact me.

Michigan Road Rochester to Plymouth 003

Site of Woodrow School in Fulton County near Rochester.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Site of former Woodrow School in Fulton County

  1. Ashley Minor says:

    I live at this location now. I have for a few years. I found some old pictures of it and some old articles about it if you’d like to see them.

Leave a comment