Trace of a former county road in Noble County

A couple of years ago, I went to Noble County to talk with a farmer. While on his farm, I noticed a long lane leading back to a wooded area. Naturally I wanted to know more about it and he told me the lane used to be a county road at one time. More specifically, I took the photo facing east just off State Road 5 in Washington Township, Noble County, a couple of miles south of Cromwell. I was able to locate the old road on a 1933 township plat map of Noble County. It went to the east before turning south and becoming a north-south county road. I’m not sure when the road was abandoned by the county, but it clearly looks to be an old road dating back to the horse and buggy days. It also must have been vacated before roads became wider because it does not appear to meet today’s road width standards. As I recall, the farmer told me he remembers being told horses and wagons used to go by the farm quite often. The lane has ruts in it that would appear to be, at least in part, the result of wagon or buggy wheels traveling over it for many years. A remnant remains of an old country road in Noble County.

Palestine Area Remnants 004

Abandoned county road south of Cromwell in Noble County.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

