A trace of the Winona Interurban Railway

This week I shift to another interurban railway, this time the Winona Interurban Railway. It stretched from Goshen to Peru before passenger service ceased in 1934 and freight service then continued until 1952. On its route from Warsaw to Mentone in Kosciusko County, the route was angled. When I was in the Palestine area a couple of years ago, I decided to drive on Shilling Road toward Mentone in Harrison Township. I wondered if there would be any interurban remnants. Sure enough, I looked off to my north and saw what is shown in the photo. The interurban line ran over a ditch and there must have been a small bridge of some type. I believe the ditch is still there, though it can’t be seen in the photo. More precisely, this is just east of County Road 900 West on Shilling Road. It looks to be a footing for the old bridge, which obviously is no longer there. Another remnant survives of the old Winona Interurban Railway in Kosciusko County.

Palestine Area Remnants 019

Winona Interurban remnant near Mentone.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

