Southwest Bible Church in Harrison Township

I had driven by this old church building several times, but last year I decided to stop and get some photos of it. As you can see by the sign, it is the Southwest Bible Church. It is located on County Road 40, not far from State Road 119 in Harrison Township, Elkhart County. Although it is fairly obvious by looking at the photo the church building is old, I’m not sure how old it is. I saw a reference online talking about the cemetery nearby and saying the church building built in the mid 1850s is still standing. I saw a church located here as far back as 1874 on old maps. I’m guessing it was originally a German Baptist church because of the settlement patterns in the area, but I can’t say that for sure. It is located in the small community of Southwest, which used to be a little more prominent than it is today. Also, State Road 119 is of historical significance as it used to be known as the Plymouth-Goshen Trail. To the best of my knowledge, this is still an active church today.

southwest-bible-church-harrison-twp-001

Southwest Bible Church in Elkhart County.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

