Road remnant in Allen County

Here is another remnant of the Lincoln Highway, this one in Allen County on the edge of Fort Wayne. I took the photo where the old alignment of the road intersects U.S. 33 near Interstate 69 and also U.S. 30. This is a very busy traffic area with the road interchanges. Remember, U.S. 30 and I-69 were not here in the 1920s. With that thought in mind, it would be easier to understand the remnant I have in my photo. The old route of the Lincoln Highway would have included Goshen Avenue, which is on the other side of the interchanges and out of the view of the photo. I do not recall the name of the road now that I have in my photo. With the technology in place today, it is sometimes easier to see where old road remnants would have been located. Google Maps, for example, has an aerial view that is useful sometimes in determining routes of old roads. Looking at hardcopy maps will not always reveal the answers, though they are often helpful. But here is one more trace of the old Lincoln Highway.

lincoln-highway-remnants-allen-and-noble-county-004

Remnant of Lincoln Highway in Fort Wayne.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

