Marker in Leesburg a bit of a mystery

Admittedly my entry this week is somewhat of a mystery to me. A while back I noticed this concrete marker in the right of way just off State Road 15 on the north end of Leesburg in Kosciusko County. There is no visible writing or lettering of any kind of it. I have seen right of way markers for state roads and this is bigger than those and the road markers typically have the number of the highway on them. I know the route of the Winona Interurban Railway passed through and would have went pretty close, if not right by, where this marker is located. So my guess is the marker had something to do with the interurban line. More specifically, though, I do not know what purpose it would have served. I don’t recall seeing anything similar still standing along the interurban route. Maybe a reader will have more specific information. If so, please contact me. I am kind of curious about this marker anyway.

Palestine Area Remnants 028

Concrete marker along State Road 15 in Leesburg.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

