Remnant of county road near Oswego

I mentioned before I’m interested in finding remnants of roads and here’s another example of one that was pointed out to me a few years ago. It is west of Oswego, a small, unincorporated community in Kosciusko County. County Road 550 North once went straight through, but no longer does. This is near County Road 175 East. The photo may not show it as well, but I remember when standing there and taking the photos, a road cut was more visible. I’m not sure how long ago the road was vacated, but apparently it has been some time judging from the growth that has occurred since then. Vacating county roads is fairly common of course. A road, or a portion of it, no longer serves a useful purpose. This happens quite frequently around lakes when roads are vacated because they are no longer used. Travel patterns change sometimes. I just think it is interesting to see clues to the past of how people used to travel.

550 North and 175 East Near Oswego 001

Road remnant near Oswego.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

