Church building converted to new use

West of Milford in Jefferson Township, Kosciusko County, is an area known as Hastings. It was a small community at one time many years ago, though today there is not much evidence left of it. The Island Chapel Church was part of this community. It is on County Road 425 West near the intersection with County Road 1000 North. The church was originally part of the Evangelical Association but later it was decided to unite with the Methodist church. As I recall it may have taken yet another name later, though I’m not quite sure. The building was dedicated in 1877 and I do know Sunday school rooms were added in the 1950s. Though the building still has the appearance of a church on the outside, it is now, I believe, rented out as a holiday house. I saw photos of the inside posted online. At least someone has found a new use for an old building. I’m not sure when it ceased being an active church. The “Island” part of the name of the church likely came from the fact the area was prone to heavy flooding in the years before drainage ditches and there were pockets, or islands, of higher ground scattered about.

Island Cemetery and Chapel Near Milford 013

Former Island Chapel Church near Milford.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment