Abandoned road in Benton Township

Since roads were first surveyed and built in the early years of the existence of Elkhart County, there have been several roads vacated or abandoned. Shown is a vacated road in Benton Township, Elkhart County. It is between county roads 44 and 46, east of State Road 13. I noticed a vacated road on the right of way map for the township (provided by the Elkhart County Surveyor’s Office). I drove out that way one day and found this pretty clear evidence of the old road. It would have crossed the Elkhart River and on the other side of the river, there is a lane coming off County Road 44 in just about the same location. No dates were given on the right of way map for when the road was vacated. Being so close to State Road 13, I wonder if the road was vacated due to change in alignment or designation for the state road? The vacated road crosses through private property now, but I took the photo from the road, so I’m not guilty of trespassing!

Vacated road in Benton Township of Elkhart County.

Vacated road in Benton Township of Elkhart County.

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment