Red barn stands out on rural property in Jackson Township

When I was still working in Milford, for a while I had to take an alternate route part of the way when County Road 19 was being upgraded a few years ago. That meant driving on County Road 21. I noticed a beautiful red barn that looks like it has been taken care of. It is located north of County Road 142 on CR 21 near a meandering creek in Jackson Township of Elkhart County. This was once known as the Steffen farm and before they purchased it the property belonged to Alice and Milton Weaver for several years. In her book “Party Lines, Prayers and Privies,” Judy Steffen Lambert recalls her family moving to the farm sometime in the early 1950s. In the book it was noted the barn and the house were both at least 75 years old, meaning they were likely built sometime in the 1870s. It was also noted the road was still dirt, which was common for the county roads at that time. A few of them are actually still dirt roads. The barn had hand hewn timbers and a hay mow up top and also a grain bin. The lower level had a milking stable and loafing shed. It was quite common for barns to be multiple purpose in a time when cows were milked, chickens were raised, there were beef cows and more. Farming equipment could also be stored inside barns. I’m not sure if this property is still part of a farming operation. I just know the red barn caught my eye.

Old barn on CR 21 in Elkhart County

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment