Former Muncie train station

I’m taking a break this week from the local area and straying to the south for the old train station in Muncie, Indiana. It was built in 1901 for the Cincinnati, Richmond and Muncie Railroad which was later acquired by the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway. Passenger service ceased in 1949, but was later revived for Amtrak in 1973 and remained until 1986 when a rerouting took place. This past summer I visited Muncie (and other locations) while on vacation in order to ride my bicycle on the Cardinal Greenway trail. That trail uses the right of the way of the former C&O Railroad and the old depot in Muncie now serves as a visitor center and office for the Cardinal Greenway. The inside of the building is simply beautiful and has been wonderfully restored. It has the look and feel of an old train station. If you are ever in the Muncie area, I highly recommend visiting the old depot.

Former Muncie, Indiana, train depot

Former Muncie, Indiana, train depot

About historynut11

My name is Tim Ashley and I am a newspaper editor/reporter/photographer in Milford, Indiana, and live in nearby Goshen, Indiana. A deeply held and sincere passion of mine is history and learning from the past. I enjoy a wide variety of history topics, but particularly local history, noted American highways (Lincoln Highway and Route 66), railroad history and the Civil War. I believe we can learn much from the past and that past shapes who we are today. I also enjoy visiting museums and historical sites, as well as taking photos of remnants from the past still standing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment